PDA

View Full Version : My "undo" quirk

N2RCDNG
01-11-2005, 09:16 AM
I have been using SS for several years. Recently, I have discovered that when I delete a small portion of a region that is part of a large file, it takes a long time for the deletion to take place, especially if the deletion is attempted near the begining of the file. I should explain that by "deletion" I mean creating start and end boudaries within the region, and then hitting the "delete" key. Also, it seems the program is writing "undo" information (or perhaps re-writing the entire SF) to the hard drive. If I uncheck "auto undo" in the options window the problem does not exist .... but, of course, I no longer have any "undo" :(
Have I inadvertantly optioned something incorrectly?

Perplexed,

George
National Media Services

Bob L
01-11-2005, 09:32 AM
With each edit that creates undo files, the disk is being written. The undo files are pretty much a complete edl file... these are usually small and should take but an unnoticable blink of an eye, even on the slowest of systems.

My guess is that something is impeding your disk writes in a severe way if you are having delays as mentioned.

Make sure no virus checker software is active... because they will usually try scanning everything written to disk against their database of known virus patterns, which could effectively bring your disk access totally down into the mud.

Otherwise, I would suggest that perhaps the DMA access to the disk drives is not active, or the disk write cache on the physical drives is not active.

You may want to right-click the My Computer icon, then choose Manage, then Device Manager... then look at the individual disk drive properties and make sure the Write Cache is ON. Also check the Disk controllers and make sure DMA is active for each.