PDA

View Full Version : the simplest way?

PaulH
02-06-2005, 09:32 PM
Hi,
I'm new to all this and sawstudio looks interesting.

what i want to do: record a CD for children with acoustic guitar, vocals, light percussion, bass, a lead instrument or two. i don't want to spend loads of money on stuff i may not know how to use. today i looked at cubase system 4, but when i read the reviews, it didn't get good ones. i liked the idea of a simple gizmo that has two mic pres and simple software though.

equipment I have: a toshiba laptop satellite 1805-S207 (1.1ghz with 256 Ram upgradable to 1gig i think. i have USB 1, and pcmcia slot i can insert a USB 2 thing -- i'm real technical here!) and I also have a 250gig external hardrive i can connect with USB 1 or 2.

if i used SAWbasic to get tracks and I mastered/mixed somewhere else, what other stuff would i need to get up and running? i could live with two channels of mic pres to start. i would build this with my acoustic guitar and adding stuff as I went along. a friend said I might do well with two studio projects c1 mics as a base.

Those two mics would cost $400. what else would I need? I want to start real simple and sane (technical and price wise). Saw basic is $300. I would love to keep the price to about $1,500 or so. is this possible? I know this is sawstudio forum, but i'm open to all suggestions.

Can someone guide me through this? i guess you can reply to this thread or e-mail me at phelou@aol.com

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!
PAUL

this is what Bob recommended:

I use an RME Hammerfall DSP cardbus
(PCMCIA slot)... it has 24 i/o... you might not need that much but its
nice to know its there... I then use RME's Digiface box (3 ADAT
lightpipes for the 24 chans) and 3 Behringer ADA8000 converters...
these are awesome... only $230 US dollars and each has 8 mic pres with
phantom power and 8 line ins and outs to ADAT lightpipe... I just
finished a gig where we dropped 35 channels live into two laptops