PDA

View Full Version : New to SAC and PC: I need advice?

martiaudio
11-04-2011, 08:57 AM
Hello there,

I want to invest in a SAC and SAW software and set up my own system but I am new to that and to pc.. I have been a Mac and Protools user for years.. I want to change. Also my freelance work is FOH but I don't have the budget for a DiGiCo.. and NO Yamaha.. yet I'd like to develop business with my own digital console and recording too.. So SAC and SAW I guess seems great and what I have been looking for for a long time.
I have a sketch of a set up I am think of. I'd like to know what you think?
I need to know what PC to choose for the job.. should it be mono core with SAC and SAW software? Should it be XP, but I thought multitouch screen is only with Windows 7.. should it be a standard i7 4gigram, ...
All I think I know is that I need 2 different firewire for my lightbridge and RME fireface 400.. ( i will use 3x modified ADA8000 ), one extra pci express just in case I change for a RME raydat, a SATA port for an external Hard drive. the rest I don't know really..

I thought of a Liyama or AOC 22" touch screen monitor for control cos it is cheap, and a Acer ICONIA 2x14" 10 fingers multitouch laptop networked or wireless for control and remote. it looks great but I like your opinions on that? the idea is to use the remote all the time. however what cheaper tablet could I use for remote only?
Thanks for your inputs..

http://myspace.com/martiaudio

MikeDee
11-04-2011, 09:06 AM
Welcome, Marti! I'll let our resident experts address your SAC/SAW Qs. I'd just like to offer up the possibility of your saving some money and using your Mac to run SAC/SAW on Windows via Bootcamp. (I believe you'll need Win7 with Bootcamp v4x; else, XP should be fine with Bootcamp v3x.) You'll find a good number of threads on the Forum pertaining to this...Robert Randolph (among others, I'm sure) has done this quite successfully.

Best of luck to you...and enjoy the ride! :)

Donnie Frank