PDA

View Full Version : Wireless MIDI control

Mike Jaspers
08-21-2012, 10:51 AM
Hello All,
I've lurked these forums from time to time for about a year now. I guess I should introduce myself: My name is Mike Jaspers and I'm an audio technician at a church.

I've kept SAC in the back of my mind for an application that has only recently become practical for us to TRY and implement and am now going through the research stage. However, I don't know enough of the background of SAC to know if my application would be practical.

What I would like to do is get rid of our existing Aviom system by going to a SAC system that gets audio i/o via Dante (already have the Yamaha RIO Dante stuff). I am not trying to replace our FOH mixer with SAC, only the aviom system.

I would like to have an iPad control a bcr2000 (audio via IEM xmitter) for each singer or musician of the separate "monitor mixes" within SAC. I know iPad control is "possible" with a hardware digital mixer like the Yamaha 01v and "missing link(wifi to midi)," but my goal is to use SAC because of the number of mixes and inputs I need.

Aviom and other variations on that product have become impractical for us because of the number of people we have trying to use one Aviom network. Using two networks of Aviom is possible but then we have to buy a product I feel is very much at the end of it's life cycle and has limited inputs and isn't all that flexible.

My other option is to simply buy an additional Yamaha CL mixer to handle IEM, but I then have to rely on an additional technician each week. My assumption would be that the SAC system could be largely controlled by the musos, much like Aviom now.

So, Is it possible & practical for me to accomplish this?
If so, what do I need besides another Dante license, ipad, SAC, time, and a computer?
And, how do I go about experimenting for not a lot of $?

Thanks much in advance and be blessed.
Sincerely,
--Mike

ssrsound
08-21-2012, 11:30 AM