PDA

View Full Version : Virtual Soundcheck capability?

zzygan
09-24-2012, 06:23 PM
Hi

I'm new to SAC as a user, and I have used plenty of digital consoles in the past.

I was wondering if there is a way with SAC to do a "virtual soundcheck" where you multitrack record a performance, and then later playback that performance back into SAC on each input channel and set the EQ/compression etc when the performers are not available or to setup a venue before the performers are ready?

Thanks

soundchicken
09-24-2012, 06:36 PM
you bet'cha!

check out SAW Studiolight

Bob L
09-24-2012, 06:41 PM
The SACLink for SAWStudio and SAWStudioLite allows that capability... as well as the ability to create the multitrack recording easily with a few clicks of the mouse.

You can easily create a scene to switch back and forth between the mic inputs and the SS track playback.

Explore the demos of one of those programs.

Bob L

RandyHyde
09-25-2012, 09:07 AM
Hi

I'm new to SAC as a user, and I have used plenty of digital consoles in the past.

I was wondering if there is a way with SAC to do a "virtual soundcheck" where you multitrack record a performance, and then later playback that performance back into SAC on each input channel and set the EQ/compression etc when the performers are not available or to setup a venue before the performers are ready?

Thanks
I bought SAW Studio Lite for this very purpose. My original thought was that I could record the act during sound check, drag them out to FOH afterwards, and play back the mix for them to get their approval.

This approach failed for a couple of reasons:

1) Most band didn't care and didn't want to waste any time listening to the mix... (okay, doesn't count for much).

2) You have to mic *everything* in order for this to be functional (not too much of a problem, but for some smaller shows I don't mic everything on the stage if the backline is loud).