PDA

View Full Version : SAC/SAW Success!

Donnie Frank
01-31-2014, 12:58 PM
SAW/SAC-heads;

A little background...

I've been mixing on SAC for about 5 years. 2 Christmases ago I purchased SAWLite 5.1 and have literally never used it. Up to now I have been using the TapeIt plugin on the Output channel. Because the TapeIt recordings don't take into account stage volume, and my clients are less than perfect regarding their stage volume, more than once I have wished I could a little "post-production" and boost a specific instrument for a given mix or given passage. My objective is to maintain the "live feel" of a live recording with the ability to allow me to "repair" shortcomings. I wish to do this repair in my video editing software, which allows me to drag individual .wav files into the work environment. I don't wish to get into a full-on post-production situation. I would like to be able to drag the 2-channel mix into the videos (as I always have) with the addition of being able to "enhance" certain instruments if need be.

Finding an experiment environment....

I was perusing FB a few days ago and some musician friends of mine were showing off pictures of their new warehouse rehearsal space, which donned microphones for all instruments into a full P.A. system, their own analog console AND a splitter snake! Wow!! I thought that if I could get in on their rehearsals, I could experiment with SAC/SAW in a non-mission-critical environment. In return I could provide the band with quality recordings. I pitched the idea and they loved it. I showed up with my SAC rig, plugged it into the monitor end of the splitter snake, established signal and was ready to go!

Before moving forward I gave the band the caveats. I told them I was new at this so they needed to keep their expectations low for the first few rehearsals. They have been completely understanding. It has been a good relationship.

The learning curve...