PDA

View Full Version : Multiface failure...but no egg on face...

Donnie Frank
09-27-2015, 09:15 AM
Good morning fellow SAC-heads;

My small, 8-channel SAC rig is comprised of a Dell 700m + RME Multiface setup. The Multiface connects to the laptop via a PCMCIA card. I've used this setup for several smaller shows with great success. For those not in-the-know, the Multiface has 8 line-level inputs and 8 balanced outputs - all 1/4" jacks. If one has a powerful enough P.A., one can actually gain up these line inputs enough to work with microphones. It's not the best way to run SAC, but it works. The Multiface also dons Light Pipe ports.

As some of you may or may not know, my main gig is drumming. One of my bands had been contracted for an outdoor show Saturday morning, Sept. 26th. They needed a band and a sound system. So for this particular show I did something I normally refuse to do; mix while performing. As a drummer I can't really walk out front and hear the band. So I loathe trying to mix while drumming. It can be done, but it's not my favorite way to perform. But in this particular instance they waved enough cash under my nose that I agree to do both. Essentially my sound company was going to be paid as a separate entity from my drumming. So the money was really good - essentially making most of my mortgage payment in a single day.

The Saturday show started @ 8:30 AM. Since I was performing Friday and Saturday nights, the only way I could pull this off would be to either take the field @ 6:AM or set up the P.A. Friday afternoon. The client said that the tents were being set up Friday morning, and therefore agreed to allow me to take the stage @ noon on Friday. One of the guys in the band agreed to help me set up. Perfect.

This particular ensemble is essentially an 9-channel band:

Kick
Snare
Bass
Acoustic Guitar
Electric Guitar
4 Vox

Speaker setup:

Mains: K12 (x2) (Mono)
Center fill: K12 (in-line with Mains)