PDA

View Full Version : Limting or compression - which to use and when?

celebritymusic
09-15-2005, 07:18 AM
Hi

I'm a rookie when it comes to producing and mixing.

Just wondering what makes you decide to use a limter as opposed to compression, and visa versa. What instruments would you use either one on, and how do you know when too much is too much (to avoid the overcompressed sound that is rampant today)?

I'm a little scared to use too much of either, and because I'm a rookie, I have no idea how much is too much.

BTW, I am refering purely to mixing, not mastering.

Cheers!

Shaun

TotalSonic
09-15-2005, 08:18 AM
Limiting is essentially compression but with a very high ratio (and usually a higher threshold). In mixing compression is generally used more than limiting. Vocals, bass guitar, kick and snare are the instruments that most often get compressed in mixes - but there is certainly no "rule" on this - application of compression is a matter of taste and what works for the particular track. It's very rare that I don't use at least a smidgeon of compression on a vocal track though.

The best thing to do in order to learn the effect compression has on the sound is to put a compressor on a track and play around with the various different attack, release, threshold, knee and ratio settings on it and then a/b the track with the compression off and on. After a while you'll build a "vocabulary" where you'll be able to hear a track and know almost automatically what settings to apply to get to the sound you are looking for.

Best regards,
Steve Berson

mikebuzz
09-15-2005, 10:34 AM
VERY good advice Steve !!! compression is something that takes time to learn but I think Steve just gave you the "Elenor Woodhead Speed Reading Course" version

LAter
Buzz

I use an 1176ln on all my vocal tracks pre recording ( so far I like the sound ) but you have to be VERY careful the settings need to be RIGHT ( trust me I've screwed up some good takes :( , )

Ian Alexander