PDA

View Full Version : New here

Doriengray
10-28-2005, 11:36 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the discoussion board as stated! Just wondering if anyone else has Protools digi002r in their setup.
I used to use Sawpro,and dug it,but have since gone down the protools road. I;m just wondering if anyone would suggest purchasing Sawstudio lite to replace my DAC of Protools. I currently bypass all the hardware of protools(via RME and TC Goldchannel converters),and have heard that as a mix station,Sawstudio has a much better 'sound' than the protools engine.....

any thoughts?
thanks guys,
Dorien

studio-c
10-28-2005, 11:39 PM
Can't answer the ProTools question, but I just wanted to say hello and welcome. You'll get some good answers very soon...

Veit Kenner
10-29-2005, 12:10 AM
and have heard that as a mix station,Sawstudio has a much better 'sound' than the protools engine.....
Hi Dorien,

welcome to the board.

I can't compare to the Digi hardware since I'm using RME for a long time myself - and I'm quite happy.

I highly recommend to try out the SAWStudio demo version. This will be the only way to make up your own mind in your own surrounding. There had been many reports on this board about an audible difference in soundquality.

You can download the demo at http://www.sawstudio.com/Downloads.htm

Best regards,

Veit

Jay Q
10-29-2005, 12:23 AM
I;m just wondering if anyone would suggest purchasing Sawstudio lite to replace my DAC of Protools.Is that a rhetorical question? ;) Certainly some on this board would suggest that, but if engineering is your bread and butter, makes sense to keep Protools around, too, dontcha think? But like Veit said, just check out the SAW demo. Compare a real-world mix of at least 10 tracks in both apps. I bet you'll like what you hear in SAW.

Jay

Bill Park
10-29-2005, 07:40 AM
Hey everyone,

....have heard that as a mix station,Sawstudio has a much better 'sound' than the protools engine.....

any thoughts?
thanks guys,
Dorien