PDA

View Full Version : New SAWStudio Demo user

Misha
01-21-2006, 02:03 PM
Hello everyone,

I downloaded the SAWStudio Demo today along with the movies and would like to get to know this application. I'm relatively new to digital recording and much of this stuff is pretty confusing to me. For the last several weeks I've been using N-Track but have been experiencing too many freezes and crashes and am shopping around for something new.

I'm having some problems playing back my recorded audio. The sound is all garbled and scratchy. The weird thing is that if I go into my C:\Audio folder and double click the wave file, it plays perfectly.

Here is a list of the steps I did:

Options || Audio Driver Model || Asio Protocol || E-MU ASIO

Options || Audio Device Setup - E-MU ASIO || Wave Device Out 01 - Asio - ASIO31/32

Out Preload Buffers - 4

Out Buffer Size - 440 Samples (unchangeable)

Options || Audio Device Setup - E-MU ASIO || Wave Device In 01 - Asio - DOCK Mic/Line A

In Preload Buffers - 6

In Buffer Size - 440 Samples (unchangeable)

MultiTrack || Resolution || 24 Bits

File || Save Session As || C:\Audio\my song.edl

Label first two tracks (Guitar 1, Guitar 2)

Arm 1st track || D-01S || Mono Devices || [01] (Dev 01L) Asio - DOCK Mic/Line A

I recorded the guitar direct using the Emu 1820m.
I'm sure I've missed something but I don't know what it is :) Please help this newbie out. Thanks!

Misha
01-21-2006, 03:19 PM
I guess I should have run a search first :D Looks like the problem lies with my audio card.

Neal Starrett
01-21-2006, 03:55 PM
Misha, I had this card at one time and had the same problems. I am not sure but you might want to check if Emu updated the drivers . Try increasing in/out buffers also but that may lead to unusable latency. Not sure. Also, you might be able to use the High Performance Multimedia, in the driver model within SS and this may help. Others who know will hopefully chime in. HTH

niles

Bob L
01-21-2006, 04:55 PM