PDA

View Full Version : Send/return to outboard not in time

olzzon
01-24-2006, 10:08 AM
When i use HW in/out on aux/return busses. The tracks are not in sync when i have a plugin with latency on the masterbus.
Are there any way to compensate for this.

Arco
01-24-2006, 12:29 PM
http://www.jms-audioware.com/latency.htm

JMS's latency compensator plugin might work for you. I'm not experienced in using hardware outboard gear but i imagine if you record the return into SAW you coul determine the latency and then use the above plugin to compensate..(not sure about this though)

olzzon
01-24-2006, 12:48 PM
That doesn´t seem to solve the problem.
The Aux -> HW out -> Hw in -> return track in route seems to have difficulties to manage plugins with latency on the masterbus.
Normally the Aux -> HW out will be played before so that the return will be in time. When you insert a Plug with latency on the masterbus, the track will play but the return won´t play until a couple of second later and it will be out of sync. and it´s a sync mix of the latency that the plugin causes and the latency the send/return channel creates.

What i can do is route the aux to a master out(e.g master out 4) and mix it out of Saw. Then it is in sync. And you can record it on a track before mixing.
But then i can´t have any master plugins on the master, cause the HW channels won´t be included, and then i could just as well work without anything on the master channel.:) Which was not what i wanted, and why i asked.

antiClick
01-24-2006, 12:51 PM
How to determine total pugin latency?
Seems teoricaly possible for the host to auto force latency in outboard returns?

Very interesting

olzzon
01-24-2006, 12:59 PM
How to determine total pugin latency?
Seems teoricaly possible for the host to auto force latency in outboard returns?

Very interesting

That´s actually one of they great things about saw, you just use the aux as HW send returns, and SAW takes care of latency all by itself.