PDA

View Full Version : Questions about SawStudio

portobellovcs3
04-27-2006, 09:06 PM
OK, as you can all see I'm new around here. I'm considering SawStudio because I want something that allows me to work quickly and efficiently with audio. I also want something that is stable, isn't a CPU hog, and sounds great.

From my understanding, I can load and play my VSTi's inside SS, but I can't sequence anything midi (there is no piano roll type editor or anything similar). Is this correct? This isn't a huge thing for me, as I usually prefer to actually play my VSTi's and record the takes as audio and edit the audio. I am aware that an optional Midi program that integrates into SS is available for $300.

Also, for those of you that have compared the integrated EQ and compressor in SS to those from UAD-1, URS, Tritone Digital, etc.***12288;How do they stack up in your opinion?

I am thinking of SS Basic as I am not a pro shop (not even semi-pro) and 24 tracks of audio is enough for me. And I don't think I'll miss any of the pro features. And I can't really justify spending the extra $. Any comments on this?

I watched the video and was really impressed! I will have to wait until next week to give the demo a try. Can't wait! Any help in the meantime is more than appreciated.

BTW, I have an Athlon 64 3000+ system, MSI RS482M4-ILD Mobo (ATI Radeon chipset), WinXP, 1 GB Kingston 3200 (2 x 512 Mb running as dual channel), Seagate Barracuda 7200 rpm 160 Gb SATA, RME HDSP 9632.

Thanks!

Naturally Digital
04-27-2006, 10:49 PM
Welcome!

Stability is the name of the game around here.

You're correct about the Midi... SAWStudio is audio first and the Midi Workshop is an add-on. You do not need MW to play VSTi's into SAWStudio if you just want to record the audio. No problem!

Start with Basic and move up if you ever need to. There's nothing to lose.