PDA

View Full Version : triggering VST instument with keyboard via Midi

BillyK
09-10-2006, 05:46 PM
I've been using Saw products for a long time but I am new to using VST instruments.

I downloaded the Kontakt2 demo which and I am trying to figure out how to trigger it via a Roland keyboard I have plugged in through my USB Midisport.

I can put Kontakt into live mode and get audio out of it.. but I can't figure out how to trigger it with my Roland keyboard. I've gone to the "Options Menu" and selected the A port of my USB Midisport.

The Roland keyboard is transmitting on Midi Channel 1.. though I am really not certain where to select a midi control input on the Kontakt VST instrument. On the main Kontakt view there is a section that says "Midi Ch: (A) 1" which seems to line up with what I have assigned in SawStudio.

I must be missing something easy and stupid.. so.. please tell me what it is??

Thanks,

BillyK

Bob L
09-10-2006, 07:28 PM
You must assign the midi port to the VST instrument patch itself... not the main Options menu midi assignment.

At the top of the VST Patch window, click on the Blue Pyramid icon and use the first menu option called "Set SoftSynth Midi In Port".

Then activate Live Mode and play away with your midi keyboard.

You can also use the Midi WorkShop Add-in if you need midi sequencing and then assign the VST synth to one of the MWS Virtual Ports, then do the same on a midi track in the MWS... this then connects the two together, allowing you to play and record midi data in the MWS that connects and plays the sounds thru the VST synth.

Bob L

BillyK
09-10-2006, 08:17 PM
Thanks Bob.. I knew it would be something simple like that.. I was looking everywhere on Kontakt.. EXECEPT in the blue diamond... DOHHHHHH!

Tim Miskimon
09-10-2006, 08:32 PM
Thanks from me as well. Now I can try some software synths!

BillyK
09-10-2006, 08:54 PM
Ok. since I am not the only one playing around with this now.. let me ask this...