PDA

View Full Version : What would you do?

gaustin
09-18-2006, 01:34 PM
Hello People!

I've been lurking here for a few weeks and I have installed the demo version. I'm liking what I'm seeing and hearing so far. I have some experience with PT and Nuendo so working with a DAW is not new. What is new for me is using a DAW in a live show situation with synced DVD/video projection. Bob L. already cleared up the audio/video sync situation in an email and which I explored further in the demo (SAW seems to do one video track, I could be wrong). The reason I am here is that I need to put together a system for the road using a laptop. I am pretty much ignunt (ignorant) when it comes to hardware issues, especially with laptops. I do know that the system will be playback only (PT .wav files not more than 16 tracks/8 stems, I hope). These will augment some live tracks that I will bring up in a seperate console. I will also need to sync 2 possibly 3 seprate DVD/video the duration of the show. These will play simultaneously or possibly not, just need seperate tracks (the only way I can express it right now). I just don't know how to go about doing that. A second laptop with SAW? video and TCP/IP sync? Also, what would be a good plan B if the rig froze or crashed in the middle of the show. I have to think of a backup plan just in case. If anyone here has had experience with this please feel free to contact me or reply to this thread with any suggestions on how you would configure such system. I apologize for the run-on sentences.

thanks in advance,

Grant Austin

Oh yeah, rehearsals start in 4 weeks and the leader wants to start purchasing gear soon. I think he means pretty soon.:rolleyes:

Microstudio
09-18-2006, 02:06 PM
Hello People!