PDA

View Full Version : OT: small voice booth with low freq resonances

Dave Labrecque
10-11-2007, 09:12 PM
My voice booth has some low-ish resonances. Like one at 120 Hz and maybe one at 180 Hz. I always thought it was a dead room till I started playing with Bob's Frequency Analyzer on voice-overs. :)

Then I walked into an isolation booth at a friend's friend's studio (where he really did his homework with thick bass trapping in all walls, among other things) and was blown away by how dead dead really is!

The problem is it's pretty small. Like 5 x 5 x 8 with a 3 x 3 window and a full-length glass-paned door on adjacent walls. Any off-the-cuff bass trapping (or other) suggestions, before I go and devour the GIK site and other resources?

bcorkery
10-11-2007, 11:45 PM
Dave,

Id the glass double-paned this makes a huge difference.

Bill Park
10-12-2007, 03:50 AM
Like 5 x 5 x 8 with a 3 x 3 window and a full-length glass-paned door on adjacent walls. Any off-the-cuff bass trapping (or other) suggestions, before I go and devour the GIK site and other resources?

The glass paneled doors are screwing you. They are parallel, and that screws you, too. The even measurements screw you. You can't change those, but get some sand paint or something, paint the glass doors on both sides to lower the reasonant frequency, then put some acoustical absorbtion on the booth-inside side of the doors. Your mic should face straight back from the glass to get the least glass effect into the mic.

You might angle some bass trapping overhead from the 8 foot height down to 7 foot where it hits the wall.

Just some thoughts, from another guy who built too small of a booth originally and had to live with it for about seven years.

Bill

Cary B. Cornett
10-12-2007, 05:30 AM
The smaller the space is, the harder it is to tame. You mention two doors on the booth. I wonder what happens if you fully open both doors and record a test segment... Does the result on the Frequency Analyzer change?