PDA

View Full Version : MOW ADR ISDN VO w/ SAW

Dave Labrecque
11-02-2004, 06:47 PM
Seriously -- a west coast production company called me out of the blue today, saying their actor will be in town at the end of November and they need him to loop some lines for his Christmas movie, which will be in post-production. ISDN VO sessions are nothing new for me, but when she said they needed to be looking at picture during the session (makes sense), I just said "no prob". But, THAT I've never done before.

Anyone know how it's typically handled? I want to sound like I know what I'm talking about when I talk to their tech people.

My research on the Internet seems to indicate that I don't have to worry about sending them video (whew!), but perhaps recieve time code from them so that we can be in sync with the same picture they're looking at. Does that sound right? They would then offset on their end to allow for the codec delay time. How am I doing so far? Ever heard of sending SMPTE over an MPEG Layer 2 codec? Does it hold up? Ednet mentions it as an OK thing, so I suppose it's OK.

The next question is "how do I make SAW chase their time code?" If it's as simple as reading the Help file, just say so, and I'll leave you all alone. :) My sense is that, ideally, I'd like to send THEM time code from SAW and let them then do their offset, but from what I've read on Ednet's site, that's not recommended because I need the full ISDN bandwidth going back to them for high-quality audio for the VO (assuming they're recording it on their end -- maybe not).

My plan is to load the video into SAW's video viewer for the talent and me to watch, while SAW records the VO takes as a backup, chasing their SMPTE.

Thoughts? Thanks!

tomasino
11-02-2004, 07:03 PM
You guys are blowing my mind!

First, all the Live Mode performance stuff, then the Vegas recording stuff n' now the coast to coast ISDN movie soundtrack stuff!

Next SAWStudio will be the first DAW in SPACE!!!