Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: VO Processing

Question VO Processing

I have a question for those of you who do Voice Over recording and production. Do you use the Compressor and/or EQ in SS to process the voice during the mix, or do you process while recording, or both? And what settings do you use?

I know what makes a good VO read, but I am still learning how to make it sound better. Thanks for your input...processed or not.
    Jon Smoot
    J.R.S. Productions
    Creative Audio

jrscreativeaudio.com

Default Re: VO Processing

I'm in the same category as Jon. My primary focus is the spoken voice (and I, personally, am not as experienced at engineering) All my studio mics are run through processors and an on-air console before hitting SAW, but my field interviews are unprocessed and very much in need of improvement.

You master SAW engineers can really help us grow in this area.
    Thx for whatever advice (or tricks) you can pass on....
    Regards,
    Kurt
    Scarlet Rose Studios
    Las Vegas (as in Viva!)

3. Default Re: VO Processing

See the thread titled "Fader vs Gain Make Up" from just a few days back.

http://www.sawstudiouser.net/forums/...ead.php?t=1265

DaveL pulled a rabbit out of his hat, a trick up his sleeve,,, get the idea.

Digital Dexterity Records

I did read that thread when it was posted, and got some great insight into signal gain and where to push it. I still want to know what threshold and ratio settings seem to work best, and if there are some EQ Freqs to tweak.

For instance, I read an article from a record producer/engineer that talked about using a small 4k boost on the vocals helped them to stand out since the voice is centered in the 4k range. I have found this to help with both studio vo work an in live sound.
    Jon Smoot
    J.R.S. Productions
    Creative Audio

jrscreativeaudio.com

Quote Originally Posted by Jon R