Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: AMD or Intel?

Blog Entries

Default AMD or Intel?

I have been using a Mac Mini for a couple of years and it has been great..very quiet. Well I purchased a new Onyx 1220i for my new audio interface and my Mac Mini Firewire port died Only way to fix it is to get a new Logic Board+ $300 ish

So It's time to build a new system which will be Windows.

The last 2 systems I built were AMD and they were great. It has been a couple of years so what say you people....AMD or Intel... is it worth the cash to go Intel or just over kill?

Just know I am running on a Cord Duo 2.4 with 8GB Ram now and it does rather well.

Default Re: AMD or Intel?

I've stuck with Intel as a no headache solution for 19 years now - so I can't really offer any comparisons but can say that I've had great success with them. I'm building a new DAW currently - ASUS P8Z77-V LX mobo, i7 2700k 3.5GHz quad core cpu, 8 gig DDR3 1600 RAM, Western Digital Velociraptor 10000rpm 500gb system drive. A big selling point of the mobo for me was the 3 PCI slots so that I can still use my old Mixtreme 192 and UAD-1 cards in it.

Best regards,
    Steve Berson

3. Default Re: AMD or Intel?

I've done both n' I vote Intel too.. i5 or better.. stay x64.

Build for your other DAW software, Plugs and VSTi's. (You mentioned somewhere you use the Melodyne plug.)
    SawStudio will be fine.
    Last edited by tomasino; 02-19-2013 at 12:39 PM.

Digital Dexterity Records

4. Default Re: AMD or Intel?

I've done both n' I vote Intel too.. i5 or better.. stay x64.

Build for your other DAW software, Plugs and VSTi's. (You mentioned somewhere you use the Melodyne plug.)
    SawStudio will be fine