Close

Default Calm Act Process

TV content producers.... What plugin tool do you use for compliance with the Calm Act?
    1. Simply use compliant meters with SAW native tools? or...
    2. Specific Plugin Processors designed for the purpose?

Suggestions?
    Carl G.
    Voice Talent/Audio Producer
    www.creativetrax.com

Default Re: Calm Act Process

I've been using the Waves WLM for several years with good results. The Toneboosters meter also works well in SAW, and is less expensive than Waves, but if you use the Waves WLM Plus it includes a peak limiter and level trim that makes compliance a no-brainer. There's nothing automatic about keeping the integrated loudness in the right place while making a decent mix, though. That still requires some craft.

Quote Originally Posted by Stashu View Post
    Carl,

The WLM meter is not on sale now at Waves. I think it's $399. But, if you wait for one of their weekend deals or add-ons to their Specials, it usually goes for $199.
    The Nugen MasterCheck is $129.
    I have both and they work well to keep you legal with the CALM Act.
    Yep... I'm turning "Wishin' and Hopin'" into "Waitin' and Watchin'".

I like the demo of Waves (though I've heard much better limiting). I'll also check out Nugen MasterCheck.
    Carl G.
    www.creativetrax.com

Carl,

One thing you'll notice about WLM and the other Calm Act meters: They force you to do the right thing in mixes and volume draws. Which makes the use of a squishing limiter obsolete. Or, at least not the go to plugin for all ills.
    When we started using the WLM for network shows, I noticed myself simple getting the levels in range, using clip gain for the loud an quiet parts to match the target level, and using the limiter just to catch the light overages.
    Listen to the mixes on Discovery. They are as loud as the Act allows and clean, clean, clean. All the VOs fit in one range and the mix is full without a lot of thumbs to your remote volume action.