Close

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tehachapi Ca.
    Posts
    528

    Default Waves V10 bundle and SAWStudio 64

    Just purchased waves V10 Horizon bundle and installed. Right off the bat, Soundforge Pro 12 scanned on startup and found all the plugins. As far as SAWStudio 64 goes, I located all the plugin dll's and copied them into SAW's VST plugins folder but none will start and I get the message: "The program can't start because WavesLib1_10_Win 64.dll is missing from your computer" etc. There are 3 of these files, numbered 1, 3 and 4. I copied these into the SAW VST plugin folder too but that didn't work. What do I need to do to get these plugins running in SAW 64?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Stuck in FL for now...
    Posts
    2,587
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Waves V10 bundle and SAWStudio 64

    Per the Help File under "VST"


    Some VST Plug-In installations will hardcode or otherwise force their plug-in path to remain intact as installed and will not allow the .dlls to be moved into the SAW VST_PlugIns folder. SAWStudio will allow VST Plugins to reside in any folder on any drive by placing an .ini file substitute in the VST_Plugins folder pointing to the full path of the dll file itself. Open the Notepad (or any other ascii text editor) to create a new text file. Inside the file, type the full drive and path and original .dll filename on the first line of the file. Make sure to finish the line with a carriage return by pressing the [Enter] key to return the cursor to the start of the next line. Then save the file as an .ini file using the same name as the plugin itself. For example, if a VST Plugin called TestPlug.dll is installed to D:\VST\Work, then create an .ini file called TestPlug.ini and inside the file type the line D:\VST\Work\TestPlug.dll followed by a carriage return. This .ini file, placed in the VST_PlugIns folder under SAWStudio, will now link SAWStudio to find the VST plug-in in its originally installed path. This can help solve compatibility issues with hardwired path plug-ins and their various copy protection schemes.



    Some of the newer VST plugins, like Waves Version 6.0, are now using a Shell loader instead of direct access to the individual plugin dlls. With these types of Shell VST loaders, you can use a utility like Shell2VST to extract the dll loaders from the Shell as separate dlls. These can then be opened by placing them in the SAWStudio VST_Plugins folder or using the .ini linker method.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Portland, Maine U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,227

    Default Re: Waves V10 bundle and SAWStudio 64

    Waves version 10 are working here. Like Saw32, you need to use the utility shell2vst, only in this case the 64 bit version (shell2vst64).

    This is the way I did it. I redownloaded the shell2vst package. I dragged the shell2vst64.exe into my SAW64 VST_plugins folder.

    I copied (in my case two) waveshells (WaveShell1-VST 10.0_x64.dll) into the same SAW64/VST_Plugins folder. I then dragged the Waveshell(s) onto the shell2vst64.exe program.
    The dlls all went into the SAW64/VST_plugins/Waves folder. I then dragged the plugins from there to the VST_plugins folder, as SAW only checks the root of that folder and not any sub folder beyond that level for plugins.

    Hope that helps.
    Michael McInnis Productions

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tehachapi Ca.
    Posts
    528

    Default Re: Waves V10 bundle and SAWStudio 64

    Quote Originally Posted by MMP View Post
    Waves version 10 are working here. Like Saw32, you need to use the utility shell2vst, only in this case the 64 bit version (shell2vst64).

    This is the way I did it. I redownloaded the shell2vst package. I dragged the shell2vst64.exe into my SAW64 VST_plugins folder.

    I copied (in my case two) waveshells (WaveShell1-VST 10.0_x64.dll) into the same SAW64/VST_Plugins folder. I then dragged the Waveshell(s) onto the shell2vst64.exe program.
    The dlls all went into the SAW64/VST_plugins/Waves folder. I then dragged the plugins from there to the VST_plugins folder, as SAW only checks the root of that folder and not any sub folder beyond that level for plugins.

    Hope that helps.

    I finally found where to download shell2vst64.dll.

    Let's see if I can figure all this out...it's already hurting my brain....
    Last edited by demodoc; 01-28-2019 at 05:50 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Stuck in FL for now...
    Posts
    2,587
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Waves V10 bundle and SAWStudio 64

    You can find a link to it on my site and here is also the link.

    http://www.sawstudio.com/links_plug_ins.htm

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tehachapi Ca.
    Posts
    528

    Default Re: Waves V10 bundle and SAWStudio 64

    Ok, finally GOT IT!!!

    Why is this so complicated with SAW???
    Last edited by demodoc; 01-28-2019 at 06:22 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Portland, Maine U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,227

    Default Re: Waves V10 bundle and SAWStudio 64

    Drag them one at time right on top, and the program should create a waves directory with .dll files.
    Michael McInnis Productions

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tehachapi Ca.
    Posts
    528

    Default Re: Waves V10 bundle and SAWStudio 64

    Quote Originally Posted by MMP View Post
    Drag them one at time right on top, and the program should create a waves directory with .dll files.

    Yes, I figured that out and it worked!

    Got them working in SAW 32 as well using the same process with the 32 bit versions.....COOL!

    THANK YOU!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tehachapi Ca.
    Posts
    528

    Default Re: Waves V10 bundle and SAWStudio 64

    This is s whole new world, having SAW in 64 bit!! Plugins load nicely without glitches due to not enough memory being accessed...I LOVE IT!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •