Close

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    8

    Default Midi Workshop Patch Select with Roland

    I need a little help with having MWS select the patch on my Roland.

    The Appendix lists sounds as follows for midi selection:

    G8N. PC. Cc00. Cc32. Name
    A113. 001. 024. 003. Piano + String

    G8N is its listing on keyboard so it doesn***8217;t matter...

    But how do I combine the PC (program change) and Cc00 and Cc32 into a command and send them to select the patch.

    Gone are the days of the SC-55

    jamie
    SAC 48 Channels - SawStudio Full - MIDI Workshop

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maple Ridge, BC Canada
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Midi Workshop Patch Select with Roland

    Jamie,

    I see that no one has responded to your query...

    Have you looked at page 9 of the Midi WorkShop manual? There is some pertinent material there.

    You need to obtain a patch listing for your device. If you are not sure, then let me know what model of Roland you have and I will see what I can do.

    Roland has a propriety sound listings called GS - which is different than the standard MIDI format.

    It has been a long, long time since I worked with MIDI - but I did configure the entire patch listing for a Roland XV-5080.

    What I found really worked well was using a spreadsheet application - such as Excel.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Midi Workshop Patch Select with Roland

    Thank you...

    I have a patch listing for my G-1000.

    Ive got it where I can select the patch, but my cc32 command doesnít seem to be reaching the keyboard.

    Itís what selects the ďvariationĒ of the sound.

    i will review that section of the manual and see if it sheds some light on something.
    SAC 48 Channels - SawStudio Full - MIDI Workshop

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maple Ridge, BC Canada
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Midi Workshop Patch Select with Roland

    Jamie,

    So,l it is pages 160 to 164 that needs to be converted to a patch.ini file.

    It is the PC, CC00 and CC32 columns that need to be saved to a text file.

    See if you can obtain a text listing of all of these patches.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Midi Workshop Patch Select with Roland

    Ok... Iím thinking this will fall into place when I open up the .ini file.

    i donít know that Iíll be lucky enough to find those pages in a text file, but it will be worth it to type them in if I can utilize all the sounds.

    Your guidance is so very much appreciated!
    SAC 48 Channels - SawStudio Full - MIDI Workshop

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maple Ridge, BC Canada
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Midi Workshop Patch Select with Roland

    Jamie,

    Give a day ...I have had success sin the past with finding path list.

    If I am unable to find a listing, then I will let you know. Whatever, we need a raw text file - in the format of:

    Patch Name[tab]PC#[tab]CC00#[tab]CC32#

    The [tabs] are important, so no spaces.

    Update 1: Jamie, found one: [click_me]

    Update 2: Jamie, just to let you know, creating a patch.ini file is a lot of work. I have not create done for some time - maybe four years or so. Roland has an odd way of referencing patch numbers, so I will have to review my notes ... hopefully I can still remember how to do it.
    Last edited by mr_es335; 02-25-2019 at 09:27 AM. Reason: Found listing

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Midi Workshop Patch Select with Roland

    Yes... in my mind if I can just figure out how to make just one entry work, it will just turn into a long data entry process.. unfortunately, itís a little tougher than I thought it would be.
    SAC 48 Channels - SawStudio Full - MIDI Workshop

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maple Ridge, BC Canada
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Midi Workshop Patch Select with Roland

    Jamie,

    Okay ... so it is the following you are looking to configure ... correct?:

    GBN PC Cc00 Cc32 Name
    A11 001 024 003 Piano + String

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Midi Workshop Patch Select with Roland

    Yes...
    SAC 48 Channels - SawStudio Full - MIDI Workshop

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maple Ridge, BC Canada
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Midi Workshop Patch Select with Roland

    Jamie,

    So ... no PM's!

    I believe I have discovered a simple method. However, this would be best discussed over the phone.

    So, send me an email...[click_me] with some contact info and a time...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •