Close

1. Default An outsiders hopes for 4.0

Before I get into what has been holding me back from moving to SAWStudio, I should start by saying I am a longtime fan. I was at AES San Francisco in 95(?) and met Bob at the original unveiling. I was blown away at the time but heavily invested in traditional studio gear that was working well for me. I have watched the ongoing development ever since and I can think of no other audio software that is as close to what I would design if I had the skills.

I am a producer/songwriter/engineer type but much of my work is actually compositional. This is where the big gap was for me for many years. It’s only relatively recently that Saw has had MIDI implementation on a professional level, however, I still need integrated Notation and advanced MIDI functions on the level of Logic or DP. I own both Logic and Performer and I have been basically satisfied with both products for compositional work, but neither program ever cut it for me for audio.

For many years I would dump to analog or digital multi-track tape and mix on large format consoles, and I still do this today when budgets allow, but I have also been working in a two-DAW environment in my private project studio for ITB mixing.
    For the last five-or-so years my Audio DAW has been Paris Pro. Paris and SAWStudio have a similar depth of sound in the mix bus that is different from most other digital mix engines (I have tried them all). DP/Logic/Paris is still working for me, but Paris is no longer supported and comes up short on any number of modern features. So I am back to wishing I could use SAWStudio as an option for the Audio part of my setup.